Pension Fund Committee

Meeting to be held on Friday, 17 June 2022

Electoral Division affected: None;

Constitution, Membership and Terms of Reference of the Committee.

Contact for further information:

Mike Neville, Tel: (01772) 533431, Senior Democratic Services Officer, mike.neville@lancashire.gov.uk

Brief Summary

This report sets out the Constitution and Membership of the Committee together with the current Terms of Reference.

Recommendations

- 1. That the Constitution, Membership, and current Terms of Reference of the Pension Fund Committee, as set out in the report, be noted.
- 2. That the Committee consider and approve the revised Terms of Reference as set out at Appendix 'A' to this report and recommend them to full Council for approval and inclusion in the County Council's Constitution.

Details

Constitution and Membership

At the meeting on 26th May 2022 full Council approved the constitution and Chair/Deputy Chairs of various Committees together with other external appointments 2022/23. The constitution of the Pension Fund Committee was approved as 19 members, based on 12 County Councillors (7 Conservative and 5 Labour) and 7 voting Co-opted members.

Following full Council, the respective political groups have appointed the County Councillors listed below to serve on the Committee.

Conservative - 7	Joan Burrows, Andrew Gardiner, Howard Hartley, Eddie Pope (Chair), Alan Schofield (Deputy Chair) David Westley, Ron Woollam.
Labour - 5	Matthew Brown, Mark Clifford, Frank De Molfetta, Stephen Holgate, Matthew Tomlinson



Nominating bodies have been consulted regarding the Co-opted Members on the Committee and the following appointments have been confirmed.

Ms J Eastham - Further Education and Higher Education Institutions Mr P Crewe - Trade Unions.
Ms S Roylance - Trade Unions (replaced J Tattersall)

At the time of writing confirmation is still awaited regarding the co-opted member appointments set out below:

Blackburn with Darwen Council (to replace Councillor R Whittle)
Councillor M Smith - Blackpool Council
Councillor D Borrow - Borough and City Councils
Borough and City Councils (to replace Councillor M Hindley).

Terms of Reference

A copy of the Committee's current <u>Terms of Reference</u> is available to view on the County Council website at Article 7 (Other Committees of the County Council) of the Constitution and is also set out in the Minute Book.

The Terms of Reference have recently been reviewed and a number of minor amendments proposed, as set out in the draft version attached as Appendix 'A' to this report. If approved by Committee the revised Terms of Reference will be recommended to full Council for approval and inclusion in the Constitution of the County Council.

Consultations

Respective political groups at Lancashire County Council, and the various nominating bodies specified in the report regarding Co-opted member appointments.

Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

No significant risks have been identified.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper	Date	Contact/Tel
N/A		

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate N/A